Features

- 1 North Dakota's Role in the K/T Boundary Controversy
- 7 A "Rare" Opportunity
- The Search for Devonian and Mississippian Source Rocks
- 12 A Quick Comparison Between Modern Oil Generation Rates and Known Oil Production in the Bakken Formation of North Dakota
- 14 2015 Public Fossil Digs
- 15 Exhibits in the Corridor of History at the North Dakota Heritage Center State Museum
- 18 The Stonewall Formation
- 21 Carbon-14
- 27 New Publications

Geo News, the DMR Newsletter (ISSN: 0889-3594), formerly the NDGS Newsletter, is published by the North Dakota Geological Survey, a division of the Department of Mineral Resources, Industrial Commission of North Dakota. The DMR Newsletter is designed to reach a wide spectrum of readers interested in the geology and mineral resources of North Dakota. Single copies of the DMR Newsletter are distributed free upon request. Please share the DMR Newsletter; we encourage its reproduction if recognition is given.

Your comments, meeting announcements, and news items are welcome. Correspondence, subscription requests, and address changes should be addressed to: Editor, *Geo News*, North Dakota Geological Survey, 600 East Boulevard Avenue - Dept 405, Bismarck, ND 58505-0840. Phone: (701) 328-8000; email: ndgspubs@nd.gov

When requesting a change of address, please include the number on the upper right hand corner of the mailing label.

For more North Dakota state government information, see http://www.nd.gov

Cover photo: A portion of Mud Buttes in Bowman County, North Dakota. The lower 1/3 of the rocks are within the Hell Creek Formation (Cretaceous), the remaining rocks are within the Ludlow Formation (Paleocene). Photograph by Ed Murphy.





State of North Dakota

INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION

Jack Dalrymple, Governor Wayne Stenehjem, Attorney General Doug Goehring, Agriculture Commissioner

DEPARTMENT OF MINERAL RESOURCES

Lynn Helms, Director Bruce Hicks, Assistant Director Edward Murphy, Assistant Director

GEOLOGICAL SURVEY

Edward Murphy, State Geologist

Jeff Bader • Becky Barnes • Kent Hollands • Elroy Kadrmas Steve Kranich • Ned Kruger • Jonathan LaBonte Julie LeFever • Lorraine Manz • Mark McDonald Tim Nesheim • Jeff Person • Ken Urlacher

OIL AND GAS DIVISION

Lynn Helms, Director Bruce Hicks, Assistant Director

John Axtman • Marc Binns • Mark Bohrer • Steven Boutilier

David Burns • Allen Christensen • Allison Christensen • Kevin Connors

Tamara Cook • Tia Cook • Tom Delling • Ashleigh Day • Tom Delzer

Al Dickson • Scott Dihle • Richard Dunn • Dolan Dyke

Nathaniel Erbele • Joyce Kohut • Annette Fetzer • Stephen Fried

Bob Garbe • Jessica Gilkey • Amity Harlan • Jason Hicks

Todd Holweger • Rick Hutchens • Dave Hvinden • Scott Ladner

Dave McCusker • Nicole Nelson • Jim Potts • Evie Roberson

Monica Rolls • Jonathan Rumppe • Richard Ryan • Caitlin Simpkins

Sam Skurupey • Rich Suggs • Dave Tabor • Steve Thuner

Matthew Tibor • Lisa Tonneson • Tom Torstenson • Jesse Trotter

Cody Vanderbusch • Traci Wangen • Daniel Wells • Dan Wigen

SUPPORT STAFF

Fred Anderson, GeoTech Support Staff Officer

Mindy Austin • Donna Bauer • Jeanette Bean • Kevin Bean Kathy Bird • Belinda Dickson • Tracy Heilman • Trudi Hogue Dan Jacobsen • Bethany Kadrmas • Nathan Kirby Jessica Koch • Robyn Loumer • Jim Martel • Matt Messana Mark Miller • Russ Prange • Alison Ritter Rhonda Rohrich • Jared Thune • Brock Wahl • Alice Webber

GEO NEWS

Lorraine Manz • Co-editor
Jeff Person • Co-editor
Mindy Austin • Layout and Design