High-Level Radioactive Waste Advisory Council Minutes of the June 14, 2022 Meeting Virtual Meeting via Teams

Meeting was called to order by Chairman Jim Roers at 10:31 am.

Chairman Roers welcomed everyone to the meeting and asked Ed Murphy to assist with roll call.

Advisory Council attendees: Representative Mark Owens, District 17 Representative Dan Ruby, District 38 Senator Dale Patten, District 39 Senator Jim Roers, District 46 Rebecca Leier, Agricultural Community Rep

James Leiman, Dept of Commerce William Panos, NDDOT Director Dr. Nizar Wehbi, ND State Health Officer Kenneth Vein, City Government Rep Ed Murphy, Geological Survey

Council members not in attendance: Dean Pearson, County Government Rep; Jeb Williams, ND Game and Fish. Council members not in attendance, but who sent a representative: David Glatt, Dept. of Environmental Quality (David Stradinger in attendance); John Paczkowski, Dept of Water Resources (Chris Bader in attendance).

Senator Roers noted that a quorum was present.

Additional people attending the meeting were: Representative Jon Nelson, District 14); Featured Presenter Dr. Erica Bickford, Department of Energy; Featured Presenter Natalia Saraeva, Department of Energy; Katie Haarsager, DMR; Marina Gasser, DMR

The first order of business was to approve the November 22, 2021 meeting minutes. Dr. Nizar Wehbi made a motion to approve the 2021 minutes. Senator Dale Patten seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously carried to approve the November 22, 2021 meeting minutes as written.

The second order of business was a presentation from Featured Speaker, Dr. Erica Bickford, Acting Director of the Office of Integrated Waste Management (IWM) – U.S. Department of Energy. The main points of discussion were: the Organizational Chart of the U.S. Department of Energy; the Office of Nuclear Energy and nuclear power; the DOE Office of Nuclear Energy Mission, Priorities and Functions; Office of Integrated Waste Management's Mission to implement Federal interim storage for commercial spent nuclear fuel using a consent-based siting process for the implementation of storage facilities; facility design, regulatory considerations and transportation capabilities using a railcar system.

Questions and discussion to follow.

Bill Panos, Director of North Dakota Department of Transportation, asked what North Dakota can do as a state to help the DOE. Bickford stated that the Midwest Radioactive Materials Transportation Committee and DOE's National Transportation Stakeholder's Forum are the primary ways that DOE engages with States and Tribes about radioactive material shipments. She advised that getting involved in those venues is a great way to ensure North Dakota has a voice in the development of policies and procedures.

The third order of business was a presentation on the consent-based siting process from Natalia Saraeva, Senior Advisor, Office of Spent Fuel and Waste Disposition, Office of Nuclear Energy, U.S. Department of Energy. The main points of discussion were: finding willing host communities for interim storage using consent-based siting; benefits of consent-based siting; building trust and confidence between the potential host communities and DOE; the request for information (RFI) which was sent out by the Department regarding the consent-based siting process; DOE received over 220 responses from Tribes, States/Government Organizations and private citizens; the common themes in the comments; the Department's next steps based on the RFI

Questions and discussion to follow.

Chairman Roers asked if any RFI comments were received from North Dakota. Saraeva stated that they did not receive any responses from North Dakota, but there may have been some received from private individuals that did not specify where they reside.

The fourth order of business was future meetings and topics. The council plans to ask the United States Department of Environmental Protection Agency to discuss their involvement with high-level radioactive waste. Tentative date is set for Tuesday, November 22, 2022.

Chairman Roers asked if anyone had any more discussion or comments regarding the meeting.

Rebecca Leier asked if the notes and recordings could be made available to the public/her constituents who may be interested. Chairman Roers and State Geologist, Ed Murphy, agreed that the meetings are public and notes and recordings are free to be shared. Murphy stated that recordings are posted on the DMR website.

Chairman Roers asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Senator Dale Patten moved to adjourn the meeting. Representative Mark Owens moved to second the motion. The motion was unanimously carried.

Chairman Roers adjourned the meeting at 11:59 am.