High-Level Radioactive Waste Advisory Council Meeting Minutes Date: May 6, 2020 Location: Virtual Meeting

Meeting was called to order at 1:30 pm by Chairman Jim Roers. The meeting began with a welcome from the Chair and an explanation that the primary duty that day was to review the draft of the high-level radioactive waste rules and then to vote on whether or not to accept them.

The first order of business was to take the roll to establish that there was a quorum.

Advisory Council attendees:

Representative Dan Ruby, District 38	David Glatt, Dept. of Environmental Quality
Senator Dale Patten, District 39	Mylynn Tufte, ND Dept. of Health
Chairman Senator Jim Roers, District 46	Rebecca Leier
John Paczkowski, ND Water Commission	Kenneth Vein
Ken Steinwand, Game and Fish Dept.	Dean Pearson

Ron Henke (Representing Bill Panos, ND Dept of Transportation) Shawn Kessel (Representing Michelle Kommer, ND Dept. of Commerce) Ed Murphy, Geological Survey

Ed noted that 10 of the 13 voting Advisory Council members were in attendance and therefore there was a quorum. Council members not in attendance were Michelle Kommer, Bill Panos, and Representative Mark Owens (District 17).

Guests observing the meeting via Zoom included Representative Jon Nelson (District 14), Reice Hasse, and Don Hancock.

The second order of business was acceptance of the November 4, 2019 meeting minutes. Rebecca Leier made a motion to accept the minutes as written. Kenneth Vein seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously carried.

The third order of business was a presentation by Dave Glatt, Department of Environmental Quality, regarding how low-level radioactive waste is regulated in this state.

The fourth order of business was a presentation by Ed Murphy, to explain the timetable and the process behind adopting the high-level radioactive waste rules.

The fifth order of business was a review of the proposed rules by Ed Murphy. After the presentation, Chairman Roers opened discussion regarding the proposed rules. Following discussion, Senator Dale

Patten made a motion to accept the proposed rules as presented. Representative Dan Ruby seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously carried.

The sixth order of business was to discuss suggestions for future meeting topics and a future meeting date. Ed Murphy was to report back to Chairman Roers regarding public comments on the proposed rules.

Chairman Roers asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mylynn Tufte made the motion and Dave Glatt seconded it. The motion was unanimously carried.

Chairman Roers adjourned the meeting at 3:30 pm.